Skip to content
Skip to navigation

Finalists Announced - MLHD Excellence Awards

22 May 2023

The finalists for the 2023 MLHD Excellence Awards have been announced. 

There were 84 nominations received across nine team award categories and four individual award categories, which have now been narrowed down to just a few finalists in each category.

Murrumbidgee Local Health District Chief Executive Jill Ludford said the response was pleasing.

"We've seen such a diversity and high quality in the nominations this year, the judging panels really have had a tough time determining the top three in each category," Ms Ludford said. 

“The Excellence Awards celebrate the achievements of individuals and teams for their pursuit of excellence and commitment to improving the lives of others.”

Awards will focus on achievements that reflect the MLHD vision and priority areas. The focus is on wellness and seizing every opportunity to work in partnership with consumers to build and maintain wellness. The objective is to enable MLHD to be the best place to work, lead, practise, volunteer, teach, learn and grow.

Winners will be announced at a gala presentation evening on Friday 16 June 2023.


Enriching Consumer Experience

  • Day Only Total Hip Replacement Program
  • Emergency to Community Initiative
  • Establishing Mobile BreastScreen Assessment Services

Value Based Healthcare

  • Emergency to Community Initiative
  • Establishing Mobile BreastScreen Assessment Services
  • Teleburns: Collaborating for better patient outcomes (Wagga Wagga)

Exceptional Aboriginal Healthcare

  • Gimhiimaldhanny Aboriginal Leadership program
  • Aboriginal Health Engagement Project (Griffith)
  • Murrumbidgee Out of Home Care (OOHC) Pathway

Patient Safety First

  • Community MHDA Clinical Pharmacy Project
  • Suicide Prevention Outreach Team: SPOT
  • Waterline Maintenance and Testing Regime: Reducing Biofilm: Dental Unit

Innovation and Health Research

  • Magseed
  • Virtual Nurse Assist

Keeping People Healthy

  • Empowering older people
  • Lockhart LHAC keeping people healthy
  • Saving sight is our vision!

Digital Innovation

  • Establishing Mobile BreastScreen Assessment Services
  • Rural Medical Consultation Service
  • Tele Burns, Enhancing the Consumer Experience (Griffith)

Enhancing People & Culture

  • Emerging Leaders (Griffith & Western Sector)
  • School Based Traineeships Program
  • Inclusion and Belonging Working Group

 Sustainability & Environment 

  • Snowy Valleys Nature Wellness Drive
  • Virtual physiotherapy service
  • Women’s Health Nurse-led MTOP (Medical Termination of Pregnancy) Service



Allied Health staff member of the Year

  • Alicia Madden - Leisure and Lifestyle Officer (Harden)
  • Brianna Chown - Allied Health Assistant (Temora)
  • Cassandra Morris - Social Worker (Wagga Wagga)

Nurse or Midwife of the Year

  • Bianca Jones - Registered Nurse/Midwife (Cootamundra)
  • Jane Turner - Facility Manager Gundagai MPS/Interim Facility Manager Tumut Hospital (Tumut / Gundagai)
  • Janine Sutton - Hyperemesis Gravidarum Project Lead (WWBH)
  • Rebecca Stimpson - Registered Midwife/Clinical Midwifery Educator (Temora)

Staff Member of the Year

  • Joanne Casey - Enrolled Nurse (Holbrook)
  • Kelly-Anne Marchioni - Renal Stream Manager (District)
  • Nigel Smith -MHDA Coordinator Aboriginal Peoples (Deniliquin)
  • Paige Frater - Nurse Unit Manager (Temora)

Volunteer of the Year

  • Dot Livermore, Culcairn LHAC
  • Judy Wettenhall, Holbrook LHAC (former Chair)
  • Syd Dudley, Finley LHAC Chair


Last updated: 30 May 2023