Skip to content
Skip to navigation

Murrumbidgee Stars in 2018 NSW Health Awards

Tuesday 6 November 2018 

Murrumbidgee Local Health District (MLHD) has scooped three out of 11 categories in statewide awards celebrating the NSW Health workforce.

Nurse Practitioner Jenny McKenzie has won Staff Member of the Year for her outstanding work in providing quality palliative care to patients living in rural parts of the state.

With a background in medical oncology and haematology, Jenny goes the extra mile for her patients.

Health Minister Brad Hazzard was on hand in Sydney last night to present the awards.

“Jenny mentors colleagues superbly but above all, she’s a tireless advocate for her patients and their rights,” Mr Hazzard said.

“It’s a justly deserved honour for her efforts and her skills that she’s won such a prestigious award,” he added.

Cootamundra MP Steph Cooke said the Murrumbidgee Local Health District is vast, providing services to a quarter of a million people across more than 125 thousand square kilometres.

“The Liberal National government has allocated a record $606 million to improving the health outcomes of local residents across the region.

“We are extremely proud of Jenny McKenzie’s recognition, as we are about other local staff winning in categories such as: the Patient as Partners and Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health,” she said.

A team from Wagga Wagga Hospital’s Mental Health Recovery Unit won for a program empowering consumers to take control of their own recovery journeys.

The same hospital’s Mental Health Inpatient Unit Multidisciplinary team achieved outstanding results helping patients fight weight gain by encouraging exercise after their admission.

Member for Murray Austin Evans said if you equip medical professionals properly the outcomes for patients and the community are there for all to see.

“I congratulate all the NSW Health Awards finalists and winners, they have shown the depth of health care in our cities and in our regions.”

“For the Murrumbidgee to win in 3 categories is a sensational result for the district,” Mr Evans said.

A full list of winners in each category are:


Winner & Project Name

Patients as Partners

MY Recovery – The Consumer Led Journey, Murrumbidgee LHD

Delivering Integrated Care

Non-Emergency Patient Transport Reform Project, HealthShare NSW

Patient Safety First

Development of an extended dwell peripheral catheter program, South Western Sydney LHD

Keeping People Healthy

Healthy food in childcare – an online solution, Hunter New England LHD

Supporting Our People

Improving specialist outpatient service waitlists, Hunter New England LHD

A Safe & Healthy Workplace

Reducing injuries in a mobile workforce, HealthShare NSW

Health Research & Innovation

High flow oxygen for bronchiolitis, Hunter New England LHD

Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health

When Less is More – Weight Gain in Mental Health Units, Murrumbidgee LHD

Volunteer of the Year

Janette Du Buisson Perrine, South Western Sydney LHD

Staff Member of the Year

Jenny McKenzie, Murrumbidgee LHD

Collaborative Leader of the Year

Dr Jennifer Anne Stevens, St Vincent’s Health Network


Last updated: 10 December 2018